1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How can I improve my video Tutorials on Chunking and the Grid Method? Please complete the surveys!

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by kim67ed, Apr 7, 2011.

1. I am a Maths student from the
    University of Bath and am undertaking a Primary PGCE
    next year. As part of a university project I have made two videos on Chunking (for division) and the Grid Method (for
    multiplication). The videos are aimed at either struggling children or
    parents who want to help their children with homework.

Please could you help me out by watching the short videos and filling out the quick surveys?

Chunking video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eF4h76R99_Q

Chunking survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DK3CJLJ

Grid Method video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMLf6sQLa40

Grid Method survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/D8BFVSK

IF YOU WATCH THE VIDEOS PLEASE
    COMPLETE THE SURVEYS! I really need to know how to improve for my
    report.

Thank you so much for your help

2. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

I got as far as "my name is..." and then realised the first video on chunking was 5 minutes long.
    So I closed the browser window.
    Videos need to be fast and direct. You need to start with what will interest the audience; introducing yourself in an adult environment in a business presentation is all very well but 5 seconds after starting the video your target audience will already be on facebook or looking elsewhere on youtube for something more amusing. (Cats in toilets are popular with my year 11s...)

3. Well, I thought the division by chunking was well presented, clear and concise [didn't look at the grid one] [​IMG]