1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hoping someone here has an answer?

Discussion in 'Scotland - education news' started by gigglebert, May 17, 2011.

1. I've just been asked by my PT to teach an S4 Intermediate One Biology class next year... my degree is straight chemistry and my GTCS registration is for Chemistry with Science. In my opinion I am not qualified to teach an exam level Biology class (however, my English trained PT is of the opinion that as I have Higher Biology I will be fine)... I've contacted the EIS (and waiting for a response) and have also emailed the GTCS but would like some opinions on the matter?

2. holdingon

holdingon Occasional commenter

all seems to be part of the chip chip chip de-professionalisation of subject expertise

i think it is very wrong -just my opinion-don't know the rules though

3. I think you are in the right here gigglebert, I don't think anyone should be being asked to take a subject they are not qualified for at S4+, unless maybe it's part of cpd for registration in a different subject. I think you have implied it yourself that perhaps your PT is getting confused because they were trained in England where this kind of thing is commonplace.
    I am a primary teacher so most definitely not an expert on secondary goings on, but even if someone tells you it's fairly common, I think you are right to be wary.