1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hong Kong With Kids

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by mercutio672, Jan 22, 2018.

1. mercutio672

mercutio672 New commenter

Hi all,

I am currently in Prague and I have an interview in HK next week for the Lycee Francais International. I have a few questions should there be anyone on here who can help:

1. Is it sensible to move to HK with 2 young children?
    2. Does anyone know the package that the LFI offer? I have a rough idea of other schools in the area and I wondered if it would be in the same ballpark. I have 6 years experience so far, 4 abroad.
    3. Is the pollution unbearable?

Thanks in advance!

2. Capricorn2412

Capricorn2412 New commenter

HK is a fascinating place to live. It wouldnt seem like it but the majority of HK territory is national parks. Loads to do for kids, hikes, beaches, trails, camping and Ocean Park > Disney World. Space is always an issue and expect your apartment to be smaller than you would expect.

mercutio672 likes this.
  3. percy topliss

percy topliss Occasional commenter

As it would be put in Top Tips from the Viz. "Practice living in Hong Kong by moving into the cupboard under your stairs"......love Hong Kong but even the 5 star hotel rooms are tiny. Expect a lot of outlay for minimum space if you choose to live there.

Perce

mercutio672 likes this.
  4. Toshiyan

Toshiyan New commenter