1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hong Kong NET Scheme - Potential Interview

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Hmart89, Jan 26, 2020.

1. Hmart89

Hmart89 New commenter

I was invited to attend an interview in London, but I'm currently in America and am wondering if going to the U.K is justified here.

I have a BA in Philosophy (not education, but somewhat related to language because of the linguistics component) an online TEFL and I recently was certified as an English teacher here in America. The form I filled out asked for post-qualification experience, while I've only taught before receiving the license. I worked as a private tutor in Hong Kong for just over two years then worked in language centers in Singapore for 3.5 years.

The recruiter told me that the volume of applicants was low this year because of the protests. Now people are also probably concerned about the virus out of Wuhan. I don't mind spending some money in order to make money but I'm hesitant to fly to an interview that in no way secures a job for me. I've written to the EDB to see if they have any indication of how many job posts they're expecting this summer but haven't heard back yet, probably due to CNY and the fact that schools won't know if their NET teacher is leaving their post until later in the year.

I was told by someone currently on the NET scheme that post-qualification experience wasn't a deal breaker. Also, my friend's buddy is currently on it as well. He studied Biology, has a TEFL and only one year experience teaching in Thailand. I'm way more credentialed compared to him.

This whole process seems very arbitrary.