1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Homework...opinions??

Discussion in 'Primary' started by trainee88, Nov 2, 2017.

1. trainee88

trainee88 New commenter

Hi what are people's thoughts on homework in primary schools?? Do you think it's beneficial?

I am a student teacher and recently I am finding that homework that I am setting (year2) is either being done by parents or not at all.

I would love to hear your views on homework

2. digoryvenn

digoryvenn Established commenter

It is common for parents to do their children's homework!
    Best not to set homework at all.

3. Landofla

Landofla Established commenter

Set things they like to do, like Show and Tell. That way you tick speaking and listening objectives and can make links to pshe or other topics.

4. Pomza

Pomza Lead commenter

Primary homework = Complete waste of time for children, parents and teachers.

(Apart from reading and times tables which don't really count...)

5. eleanorms

eleanorms Occasional commenter

Complete, total, absolute, unquestionable waste of teachers' time. Will not in any way at all move children forward or aid their progress. Will just give overworked teachers yet another job to do. If schools expect it to be properly marked, even more inexcusable.
    Just tell the parents to pick up a jolly book and read with their children. Do not understand why this fact is not obvious to every single headteacher in every single school.
    Those are my views on homework. You could always get a stamper that says 'Well done, Mum.'

alexanderosman and TEA2111 like this.
  6. carriecat10

carriecat10 Occasional commenter Community helper

Pointless :confused::confused::confused:

7. vannie

vannie Lead commenter