1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Homework - does anyone do anything different?

Discussion in 'Science' started by sammo1980, Jan 2, 2012.

1. I am currently doing my masters on homework and was wondering if anybody did anything different in their schools.
    Most people I have spoken to and the schools I have worked at have the general homework timetable, an indication of homework days and length of homework, guidelines for feedback and detentions/sanctions for students not handing it in.
    Was looking for any different approaches. Any suggestions?

2. I often set intervention homework to rewrite an exam paper in terms that the pupil understands what they actually are being asked. Its an interesting exercise which produces interesting results

3. Not really.
    BUT who is homework for? SMT? Parents? Class teacher? Pupil?
    Should a pupil who doesn't do the work (no facilities / other demands / ???) be denied access to the full range of knowledge and skills demanded by exam entry requirements?
    How much time is devoted to "sorting out" the failures and do they stay "sorted"?

4. I'd love to know if homework actually improves attainment. Has there been any meaningful research on this?

5. Mangleworzle

Mangleworzle Star commenter

I'd like to know the answer to this too.
    I'd also like to know if the time spent on kids who haven't done their h/w is actually worthwhile? How does it take away from other tasks the teacher would be doing instead?

6. jermar

jermar New commenter

I read this article when it first appeared and put it on the deputy heads desk!

Canadian parents win legal battle against homework
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/nov/18/canada-homework-milley