1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Home sick

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Bonnie23, Aug 2, 2017.

1. Bonnie23

Bonnie23 Occasional commenter

I feel ridiculous to post this. I fully moved out of my parents 3 years ago and yet I keep getting home sick to the point where I don't eat or sleep.

Some of you will have seen my post yesterday about family vs job but today I just feel worse.

I can't eat or sleep because of my anxiety and honestly I feel like I'm in a pit of anxiety. I've never been to my GP about this because I don't want medicine thrown at me.

I'm not good at making new connections and I think this has been a downfall.

What I need right now are coping mechanisms. If any of you have any please tell me.

I'm sick of crying and being upset. I'm meant to move house in three days but no where near family and the stress of the move is making me feel incapable of anything. It's also the anniversary of my nan's death and I don't have much family left.

As much as people love the summer holidays at this point I can't stand it. Every time I go to visit my parents I come back more upset.

I'm running out of ways to cope.

2. Dunteachin

Dunteachin Star commenter

Move back to nearer your parents. Having read both threads, there's no other answer!

bonxie, sabrinakat, mathsmutt and 5 others like this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Can your parents come and help you with the house move?
    Then go back home for the rest of the summer. Talk to them about how you feel and make some plans. See a doctor as well, you may benefit from some counselling or anti-depressants.