1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Holidays wreaking havoc with my mental health

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by omega-squared, Oct 24, 2017.

1. omega-squared

omega-squared New commenter

I am in my second year of teaching and although one of the perks of being a teacher is the sheer amount of holiday you get (I've been told I get 13 weeks off per year) I sometimes wonder whether I get too much holiday. This is because of the sudden change of pace and also that my teaching job is the only thing that adds routine to my life. Without that, I slip into bad habits (e.g. sleeping in till late) and become depressed. I am quite young (25) have no family or relationship commitments and all my friends are in full-time employment so it's not like I can easily go and visit them while I am off. There are also little conventions and events that last several days that I wish I could go to, but due to not being able to book time off of work I cannot attend them in full. Similarly, I would love to be able to have odd breaks with uni friends and family but it seems I cannot do this either. It appears that I would rather have fewer holidays but more flexibility to do what I want with them, rather than have whole weeks off and wonder what the heck I'm supposed to do with my free time. And then when the break finishes, I often feel like I should have been more productive and that I've wasted all this free time.

Have I gone completely mad or does anyone else get affected by the holidays in this way? Moreover, how do you find ways to pass the time?

frangipani123 likes this.
  2. SEBREGIS

SEBREGIS Lead commenter