1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HOD gone part time?

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by StrangelyOptimistic, May 24, 2011.

1. Just a quick question. I am a teacher in a department of just two teachers. So its me and the HOD. She is barely in the department anyway as she has a lot of other high profile responsibilities around the school (assistant head, faculty head etc). However she is just announced that because of childcare issues with her 4 year old she is going to change to part time where she is only in school for a few hours a day, 4 days a week. This means that the majority of an her departmental responsibilities such as department detentions, data tracking, dealing with exam entries, coursework folders etc are going to fall to me. Plus she has an after school revision session for 6th formers which I am going to have to take over. Just wondered if anyone else had ever been in this situation?

I would love to take on the role of Head of Department as I do feel ready for it, and am willing to do all this extra work, to prove my worth so to speak but it does seem unfair that I will have to do it with no extra pay or job title where as she is going to get to retain her title and pay and do half the work?

Anyone had experience of this?