1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HoD application knockback

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by cheesywotsit, Mar 13, 2016.

1. cheesywotsit

cheesywotsit New commenter

Just wondering what others thought of this: I've been teaching for 14 years, the last 8 of which have been part-time as I've been bringing up my kids. I've worked as a classroom teacher for all this time. I recently applied for a Head of Department post, but didn't get an interview, despite having all the right experience and qualifications. I asked for feedback on my application and one of the reasons given for not interviewing was that I "would probably find the jump from part-time to full-time too challenging". I find this quite insulting but wondered if anyone else had encountered this?

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

Theo and I always say that feedback is rarely worth asking for or listening to - this is because they're usually coming up with any old thing to fob you off. You're lucky, to be honest,t hat they were even willing to give you feedback on your application, because most heads will not do so (and are not obliged to do so).

You might believe that your application demonstrated all the right things - but you don't know whether it was in the top x that they decided to shortlist for the post.

wanet likes this.
  3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

I'm sorry that you were disappointed in this application. Horrid feeling, isn't it? I sympathise. :(