1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HLTA taking over supply teacher's jobs!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by fionafetra, Feb 28, 2012.

1. fionafetra

fionafetra New commenter

I have been a supply teacher for several years. I have been to a few schools where higher level teaching assistants are used to cover classes. One was moaning... saying that we don't get paid enough to cover a class. Well, in my opinion they shouldn't be paid the same rate as a supply teacher bcos they didn't have to do a teaching degree and go through the stress of studying. It's not fair that schools are doing this and supply teachers are not getting enough work.

2. And there you have it. The British people are either blissfully unaware of the ersatz state of their children's education or schools are bloody good at pulling the wool !

3. emmadrg

emmadrg New commenter

Welcome to the world of the supply teacher in 2012! So many schools use cover supervisors and HLTAs to cover classes, in fact I have yet to enter a school that did not have an army of cover supervisors on the payroll.
    If HLTAs moan about not being paid enough, then why do they let themselves be used for cover? Unless it is in their contract, which it probably is.
    Of course they shouldn't be paid the same as a teacher if they don't hold QTS and aren't doing the job of a teacher.

4. "HLTA needed to teach throughout the school during PPA time and to provide supply cover. HLTA qualifications desirable but not essential." That is a typical advert.