1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HLTA overload and a kick in the teeth

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by jsandever82, Mar 21, 2018.

1. jsandever82

jsandever82 New commenter

Hello, I’m just curious to know what other HLTA workloads and expectations are like? After giving up teaching I was an assessor for 14months, before I was pushed out by my head of department. I then took a job as a HLTA and have been working in this role since June 2016.

However I’m hearing lots of different things about workload and at present feel like I’m being used to save money on a PPA teacher. I work as a duo with a lady who has no formal teaching experience and at present would say that 80% of our timetable is PPA cover and the rest 2 hours planning, being used as a general TA in yr6 and then interventions.

I’m quite wary that we are planning more than we should and I have ended up in trouble this evening, as I pulled some smoking bits off the TES website as rushing to plan a year 6 lesson on smoking, taken from the PSHE unit drug education. due to only having a short time for PPA I will confess I printed off a nice diamond 9 activity, but stupidly gave the kids some pictures from cigarette packets which were a little graphic, I just didn’t think at the time as I had already spent 25 minutes trying to find something appropriate, sadly some children took to the pictures negatively and were left upset, I cried on the way home as I’m now worried about what will happen to me next.