1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HLTA being used?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by hank82, Jan 30, 2019.

1. hank82

hank82 New commenter

Hi.
    Not sure if I’m posting in the right place but hoping for a bit of advice as to whether current situation is right or not. It’s a bit of a long story but I will try to be concise - please bear with me!

In September I was employed 2 days a week to cover classes whilst teachers were out having management time. I am a teacher with 10 years experience and although I took a pay cut - back to m6 - for this job, I was generally happy with the situation as I have 2 young children at home and not having to deal with other class stuff and admin etc. was lovely.

Roll forwards a few months and I am now covering in another class for a member of staff on long term sick. I am trying to do extra days where I can to help out but generally sticking to my 2 days. I’m not being given PPA as the planning is done and have been told I’m essentially “just supply” at the moment but I am expected to do marking and assessment, as well as attend staff meetings and curriculum team meetings after school.

The other days (usually 3) are being covered by an HLTA (who is only employed as HLTA for 2 days) so she is doing all the things expected of a teacher bar the planning. She is not given PPA either and is only being paid 8.45-3.30 though she is staying later to get the marking done.

We have just been told that the member of staff off sick is not coming back and the situation as it currently stands (myself and the HLTA) will continue until the end of the year. They have changed the class name to my initials (without asking me).

My questions are: