1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HLTA and almost 60!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by valencia, May 26, 2018.

1. valencia

valencia New commenter

Any more out there my age? Have been a TA and HLTA for over 20 years, but have worked for a total of 42 years I'm feeling tired but still as enthusiastic, have seen the 'wheel' turn around quite a few times now, only another 5/6 years to go, the twilight years are fast approaching!

pepper5 likes this.
  2. Trekkie

Trekkie Occasional commenter

I worked as a Senior TA until 60 and took early retirement (after over 20 years in the job). Like you, I had worked a total of 40+ years.

I didn't like the way the job was changing (for the worst in my opinion!) so I decided to get out and enjoy some downtime! I missed being with the children and I think it took around a year to 'let it go' and realise that school would carry on perfectly well without me.:D

As we live near the coast, it is great to be able to head to the beach mid week and avoid the weekend crowds - no regrets at all valencia!:)

Catgirl1964 and pepper5 like this.
  3. LORRYW

LORRYW New commenter

I worked as a TA until last year. After 20 years I suddenly decided that I hated the way educatiion was changing and everything was a box ticking exercise to the detriment of the children. I have seen many fads and changes in teaching methods.I couldn't beat the system so left before the system beat me!

Catgirl1964, pepper5 and Trekkie like this.
  4. Trekkie

I know how you felt LORRYW! It has been 3 years since I left and I have no regrets.:)

5. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter