1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hitting head against a BIG brick wall

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by MissEJohnson, Oct 4, 2019.

1. MissEJohnson

MissEJohnson New commenter

Ok so I posted on here a few years ago now but I'm trying again to get some new advice.

I graduated back in 2016 from university after a 3 year BA course. It took me 8 months before I got a part time teaching position in a local independent school literally 2 miles from my front door. I was there till the end of the school year when my contract ended. I had interviews in the lead up to me finishing to no avail. I was lucky enough that they needed some cover for a month part time as a TA and they asked me to do it in addition to offering me supply work on the odd day when staff were taking children out for fixtures. I was also lucky that a family friend but my name forward for an admin job which covered a few months. The admin job offered me a reasonable deal which I couldn't refuse - they'd let me got for interviews and take up supply work at my old school to keep my hand in till I got a full time position teaching. Finally February 2018 and a full time position came up which was fantastic. I began in Year 4 but after a few weeks the Head Teacher asked to see me and said another teacher in school was leaving as she had another job lined up and he offered me the Year 5 position. I jumped at it as it meant I had my own class. I was able to complete my NQT year with a few hiccups through the year in terms of personal situations. Though in January 2019, whilst searching online for jobs for my partner who is not a teacher, I saw a role at my school being advertised and wondered what was going on. I emailed my H