1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

History Subject Knowledge

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by BlueOctopus, Jul 22, 2017.

1. BlueOctopus

BlueOctopus New commenter

Good Afternoon,

I am due to start a Secondary History School Direct course in September.

I have been given a list of topics that I will be teaching and unfortunately a good third of it I am unfamiliar with.

I studied 20th Century history for my degree and am very confident in that, the World Wars, Rise and Fall of Communism etc.

I wondered if anybody could point me in the direction of any books that would help me with my missing knowledge.

My particular problems are Vikings and Saxons, Normans and the industrial revolution (for year 7).

Although I am confident with the rest of what I have been sent any recommendations for teaching history would be great. The only book I have been told to buy is "Learning to Teach History in the Secondary School"

I have been a cover supervisor for a few years now so I am not worried about behaviour management just upping my subject knowledge.

Thank you

2. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

Well, start with the core texts. Maybe core texts for GCSE. Don't feel you have to be degree level on things you are teaching KS3. You need to know enough to teach. The rest falls into place.

Don't be blasé about behaviour management. Management as a teacher is far different from the expectations of a CS.

BlueOctopus likes this.
  3. BlueOctopus

BlueOctopus New commenter

Thanks for your reply, I am actually OK with the GCSE Spec as I have already bought the core text and am familiar with most of it.