1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

High staff turnover = ofsted?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by leo07, May 23, 2019.

1. leo07

leo07 New commenter

Out of curiosity, if a very high proportion of teachers left a school within one academic year, would it trigger an ofsted inspection?

If so, would they visit before the end of the academic year?

2. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

No.

3. HelenREMfan

HelenREMfan Star commenter

I think someone here is labouring under the impression that Ofsted/Government/Academy sponsors/Management give a flying fork about teachers.

4. jen_jen1986

jen_jen1986 New commenter

I worked in a school where 4 out of 7 teachers left at the same time due to the workload and stress. Ofsted came 3 months later and rated the school good. They couldn't care less about the fact that staff left because behaviour, management, workload, pressure etc was causing staff to have mental health issues.

5. miranda-s

miranda-s New commenter

It didn't trigger an inspection when about 85% of the teaching staff left my previous school at the end of one year, leaving many departments without a single remaining member of staff, and the school were unable to replace everyone and had about 50 supply staff in from the start of the following year...

6. HolyMahogany

HolyMahogany Occasional commenter

You would think wouldn't you.
    I have worked at schools where there has been a very high staff turnover, usually because of poor management, workload, bullying, pupil behavior.
    All OFSTED and the government care about are results. Any other issues they will either deny or ignore.