1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HELPPP NEEDED!!!! what to wear for my new job as a Teaching Assistant?? HELP!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by boyzonefan2011, Aug 30, 2011.

1. <h2>Your Open Question</h2>Show me another &raquo; hi everyone!

I start my new job on Thursday as a Teaching Assistant, as i have never worked in a school before, althought i hav done volunteer work in a local school for over a year, i am a bit stressed out on what to wear!!1

on Thursday and Friday are teacher training days so i dont know what to wear??

I have lots of black linin pants which ilove and aresoso comfotable! also like to wear ballet shoes

need some advice... help!!!

2. smart ,casual and most of all comfortable..............................
    inset days, most of the staff at my school wear jeans..............

3. I wear smart casual clothes ie, shirts, blouses, t-shirts with cardigans, trousers and skirts (nothing short). I also like to wear clothes with pockets for pens, tissues, post-it notes etc. I ensure my tops aren't low cut and I can run in my shoes (just in case!). I like to wear layers as I am always in and out of classrooms, and some parts of the school are hotter/colder than others. Also, as much as I like my costume jewellery, I am aware that some SEN children become distracted by the rattling of bracelets. Hope this helps.

4. I am starting as a TA on Monday and also unsure as to what to wear. As a guy its slightly more difficult to look 'smart' than women who tend to have loads of choice!!