1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by MissEJohnson, Jul 24, 2017.

1. MissEJohnson

MissEJohnson New commenter

I graduated in June 2016 with first class honours and spent six months signing on at the job centre whilst getting teaching interviews. All giving very different feedback as to different things I did in the lesson observation or the actual interview. I asked for feedback on applications that i wasn't shortlisted for and just got standard responses of there were a vast number of applications. I was finally successful in getting a part time contract working in an independent school near me to teach mornings in a year 3 class. This contract ended at the end of June 2017 and after having had several interviews whilst still working nothing has prevailed for me in finding another teaching position. All interviews have varied so much recently whether it being observed and interviewed by three staff members to being interview by the full board of governors without being given the heads up that all of them were going to be there. It feels to me that I am so close to the positions but always being pipped to the post and I'm slowly becoming more and more disheartened. My search area isn't big as I want to stay local but I am looking in three authority areas for positions. And advice that has been given to me already on my applications and interviews doesn't seem to be getting me anywhere. My application is always good sometimes a tad long but I have already taken all the waffle out of it so don't see a way forward. Any advice greatly received!!!

2. dawnthompson17

dawnthompson17 New commenter