1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Bath-girl, Mar 12, 2016.

1. Bath-girl

Bath-girl New commenter

Please help
    I'm a third year student on my final teaching placement.
    I recently had my last observation and received outstanding which I've received for the past two years.
    Two days ago two mediators came in to observe a lesson which they've deemed as inaduquate . I have not had constructive feedback.
    I've been told they will be coming back on Monday.
    Has anyone else experienced this. Advice please

2. Camokidmommy

Camokidmommy Established commenter

Have you contacted your Uni? They should have been aware of the visit and I would suspect that they should also have sent someone of their own to observe alongside, this is what has happened when my students have been externally moderated.

I am, however, a little puzzled about how you can have been gaining outstanding for all your lesson observations right from the start if they are graded against teacher standards as, particularly at the start you would simoly not have enough experience or understanding to achieve this. Perhaps they use different criteria? Outstanding isn't something you can be all of the time.

That aside, you should have recieved feedback and uni should be there to support on Monday.

What have the school said? What is your mentor doing to support? Do you have your other lesson observations to show consistently high performance? It is possible that that particular lesson wasn't brilliant so how do you feel it compared to previous lessons?

wanet and Jamietzu like this.
  3. IanG

IanG Occasional commenter