1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help - Year 3 literacy - information texts

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mercutio672, Apr 15, 2011.

1. mercutio672

mercutio672 New commenter

Hi,
    I'm a PGCE student trying to plan for this unit. The topic is going to be rainforests and I was wondering if anyone had combined the two already or had any advice about how to organise it.
    Any help much appreciated!

2. mercutio672

mercutio672 New commenter

Hi,
    I'm a PGCE student trying to plan for this unit. The topic is going to be rainforests and I was wondering if anyone had combined the two already or had any advice about how to organise it.
    Any help much appreciated!

3. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

What about putting the children into groups and producing a magazine about the Rainforest? They could organise themselves and decide who was editor, proof reader etc. They could design front and back covers which could be laminated and the whole thing spiral bound. If there is time they could insert extra activities like wordsearches, crosswords and quizzes. They could think of imaginative names for their magazine. If you have easy access to computers then some or all of it could be done on the computer. Have lots of Information books for them to look at to see what the usual layout is - pictures, paragraphs, bullet points, text boxes, Did you know? boxes etc.
    Encourage lots of research and teach how to précis text that they may see in a book/on the screen - don't accept cut and paste or straight copying.
    Good luck!

4. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

5. Hi