1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

help - year 1 growing plants

Discussion in 'Primary' started by haroon1234, Apr 16, 2011.

1. Hi everyone

I'm a trainee teacher and I'm going to be teaching year 1 children the growing plants science unit after Easter. I am useless at plants and was wondering if somebody could help me please. I have thought of initial ideas but not sure if they are any good.
    In the first lesson I am going to introduce plants. I'll check if they know that plants are living things. I'll ask them if they can name any plants and what kind of plants there are around the school grounds and then we'll go for a walk around the school grounds. The children will spot the plants and discuss what they look like. When they return back to the classroom, we will discuss the parts of a plant and they will make one using craft materials and they will label the main parts (leaf, stem, roots, flower).

In the second lesson, I will teach the them what is needed to plant a seed. The children will plant a sunflower seed. Shall I get them to plant them indoors or outside? If indoors I was thinking of filling small plastic cups with compost and then the children will plant 2 seeds. Would this be ok? The children will start their seed diary and each day they will make observation and record them every 2 days. How long do you think it will take for them to grow?

In the third lesson they will investigate what will happen if we don't water a seed. The chn will make a prediction and then we will plant two seeds. One of them will be watered and the other won't. Which seeds should I use for this investigation? They will start a new seed diary for this investigation.