1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with supply teaching in N.E. Lincolnshire

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by ZiggyPig, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hi all hope you can help.

I was a secondary teacher for a few years and had to leave
    my job last year for personal reasons. I have been applying for jobs when they
    come up but think I ought to sign up with some supply agencies in the meantime
    to help tide myself over.

I have a few questions:

1: Who are the best agencies to sign up with in the N.E. Lincolnshire
    area?

2: How does it work exactly, do you get up at a particular
    time and wait for the phone to ring?

3: Do you get paid traveling expenses?

4: How much does it pay (take home pay) and do you get paid
    daily or weekly?

5: What are the main differences from supply teaching and
    permanent teaching? Presumably with supply teaching you just turn up and do the
    cover work that is set for the classes and don’t have to do any of the
    duties/marking/IEPs/etc?

2. I don't know about Lincolnshire so can't help there.
    Secondary supply, especially this term, is virtually dead everywhere so don't expect to get much work of any sort.
    Pay is poor unless you are an NQT. Expect to get about 3100 to £120 a day gross.
    You will be expected to mark all work and do playground duties but not to do planning or IEPs etc.
    Some agencies do offer to pay travel expenses but most don't.
    The main advantage of supply teaching is that you go home at the end of the day with nothing to do in the evening. If you have a bad day or a bad class you don't have to face them again.