1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with planning in an Autistic unit with 4-5 year olds

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by emylou, Sep 12, 2011.

1. As title says really. I am a new teacher in a Special school in which I work in the Autistic unit and am just looking for ideas to help with my planning. I have spent the last few days letting the children explore their new environment (half were in mainstream settings before now) and I have previous Early Years experience; obviously the sessions have to be short as my group have a short focus. Does anyone have any examples of planning they wouldn't mind sharing with me? Or point me in the right direction for ideas? I am having some issues with planning for "communication" sessions too?
    Many thanks in advance!

2. Hi emylou,
    Thats a biggy! without knowing what resources are avalable in your school its hard to say what you could do.......do you have access to "boardmaker" software for example?
    Anyway a good start point for communication is a morning group folder, basically a folder full of pages with choices for the children to make, simple things such as..
    What day is it.......they have to select Mon, Tues, etc
    Whats the weather........Pictures of rain, sun etc
    The date........numbers 1-31 to choose
    Who is here today........pictures of all the staff and pupils in class.(they always pick theselves)
    Are you happy/sad........lots of emotions to pick from.
    It goes on and on but the point is its a good way to get the pupils interacting, turn taking and communicating with each other. Our morning folder is now about 20 pages thick!! oh and you will need a lot of velcro!!