1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with other LSA's

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by poppered43, Mar 16, 2016.

1. poppered43

poppered43 New commenter

Hi all
    This is my first post so hoping im putting it in the right place.

Last Monday I started as an LSA at a special needs school. My background is working with adults with learning disabilities so never worked in a school before .
    Im struggling to get on withsome of the other LSAs , theres a total of 85 in the school and theres a couple who have for some reason or another taken a dislike to me...I have no idea why !!
    Standing out in the playground only 2 , who are lunchtime assistants ever say hello, the others just appear to huddle round .
    I was having a game with a little boy the other day and one of them marched over and told him he should be playing with the other kids and not talking to adults ! I was gobsmacked as this little lad is always so isolated !!
    I then had another run in with another that same day which left me tearful .
    So I sent an email saying id had enough and didnt think the job was suitable for me, the deputy head has rang me today and said I have the makings of a good LSA and advised the staff in question would be approached and told about their behaviour .
    Thing is, if I do go back then im going to look like a right b***h as these women have been there years and have a network...
    Anyone else been in the same position, or can anyone help.

Thankyou...stressed.com

2. R13

R13 Occasional commenter

That Deputy saw something in you to make it worthwhile for them to encourage you to stay.