1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with Obese Running

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by Thejumpingjew, May 3, 2012.

1. Thejumpingjew

Thejumpingjew New commenter

Hi - I am a 20st teacher who is trying to lose weight - I have lost a stone already, but want to try running. Will this be safe on my knees?

I am worried about doing permanent damage. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Also if anyone in the Bristol area fancies a run and showing a newbie the ropes that would be great - drop us a line!

2. Thejumpingjew

Hi - I am a 20st teacher who is trying to lose weight - I have lost a stone already, but want to try running. Will this be safe on my knees?

I am worried about doing permanent damage. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Also if anyone in the Bristol area fancies a run and showing a newbie the ropes that would be great - drop us a line!

3. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

I wouldn't, to be honest!

4. gergil4

gergil4 New commenter

Do some power walking first. Build up to running. There are some great websites around to help build up your running.
    Good for you, and good luck. :))

5. Ruthie66

Ruthie66 New commenter

I'd try power walking - lower impact so better for your knees but still good at calorie burning. I tried to build up to running a 5km last year but my knees kept getting painful if I trained even every other day. In the end I alternated jogging and walking round the 5km.

6. fantastischfish

fantastischfish Established commenter

As long as you have the correct shoes and you observe good running technique, I think you would be fine to try running. Obviously, no matter what your weight, you should always start gently.