1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

help with letter of application

Discussion in 'English' started by ejones90, May 11, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I need some help. I am a PGCE student trying to get jobs anywhere in the south west. Recently three jobs came up local schools, including my old school. I applied for all three only to find out I have not been shortlisted for any of these. I made sure I tailored the letter and application to each school, reading their website and really getting across what I am all about. I don't understand why all three rejected me on the same day as I recently had an interview at a school in Cornwall who praised my application for its strength and detail and I feel I implemented this into my applications.

Some of my friends on my course got all 3 interviews and this whole situation is completely depressing me. the truth is I know I am a good teacher. I care about teaching but more importantly I care about my students. I just feel like people never recognise what I can do. I am 7 weeks away from completing the course but i don't think i can find the inner strength to carry on because i dread that i will never get a job.

Obviously the money plays a massive part in why i want a job but its more than that. my dream is to inspire, engage, challenge my students and I don't want that dream to slip away.

How can i make my application stronger and find that strength to carry on?

A very troubled Emma.

2. Hi all,