1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with EAL child in my class

Discussion in 'Primary' started by davidjones123, Jan 26, 2011.

1. davidjones123

davidjones123 New commenter

Hi all,

I have a new EAL child in my class who I am trying to encourage to be more confident when speaking English. His parents are concerned that he is behind his peers (which he is in terms of language but not with work ethic, behaviour and everything else) but they would like to build his confidence and get him using more English at home and at school. However, I am really stuck on what I can do here. I was thinking reward charts, little extra homework, more reading stories, lots of praise but I am not an expert in EAL so I would be really grateful if anyone could recommend things I could do or resources I could use.

Please help, this child is a star and I want him to achieve!
    Cheers
    Dave

2. davidjones123

davidjones123 New commenter

Hi all,

I have a new EAL child in my class who I am trying to encourage to be more confident when speaking English. His parents are concerned that he is behind his peers (which he is in terms of language but not with work ethic, behaviour and everything else) but they would like to build his confidence and get him using more English at home and at school. However, I am really stuck on what I can do here. I was thinking reward charts, little extra homework, more reading stories, lots of praise but I am not an expert in EAL so I would be really grateful if anyone could recommend things I could do or resources I could use.

Please help, this child is a star and I want him to achieve!
    Cheers
    Dave

3. Hello!
    What age is the child?