1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with Drama Teacher interview?

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by ClaireYaxley, Mar 17, 2009.

1. <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td class="post">I'm a current PGCE student on placement. There is job going for a Drama/English teacher here, but my PGCE is in English. My mentor is keen for my to apply and the headteacher has told me I'll be a very strong candidate, but although I really want the job and I know that I may have a slight advantage through being on placement here, I'm worried that my lack of Drama knowledge and experience will let me down.
    I studied Drama/Theatre Studies to AS level and Perfomance Studies to A level. I'm pretty much an amateur performer in my own right. My problem is that I don't know much about the Drama curriculum or syllabus or what plays are good to study at any key stage.
    My question is - what should I brush up on? What questions can I expect them to ask? What plays/playwrights should I know of? Our PGCE tutor gave us a list of interview questions for English so that we could practise, but he can't help me with the Drama side.

Thank you in advance!
    </td></tr></table>

2. <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td class="post">I'm a current PGCE student on placement. There is job going for a Drama/English teacher here, but my PGCE is in English. My mentor is keen for my to apply and the headteacher has told me I'll be a very strong candidate, but although I really want the job and I know that I may have a slight advantage through being on placement here, I'm worried that my lack of Drama knowledge and experience will let me down.