1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with Controlled Assessment for AQA English (new) Unit 3a

Discussion in 'English' started by katesues, Jun 1, 2011.

1. Hi everyone, looking for a bit of help with the CA for Unit 3a.
    I'm a learning support worker at a secondary school (although as I have a degree in Eng Lit, my school sometimes seems to think I'm actually an English teacher, albeit an extremely underpaid one).
    I have to help a group of current year 10 students get their controlled assessment done after the half term holidays - and I don't have a clue where to start! I'm used to the old spec and although I have been given a load of info on the new one, I'm not sure what I'm meant to be doing with the students.
    I would greatly appreciate some help from any experts out there, as I want to get a clear idea of what I'm going to do with the students over this half term.
    From what the English Dept at my school have told me, we have to pick one of the tasks out of the four CA tasks provided by AQA, which seem simple enough. I have been told the students HAVE to cover prose, poetry and drama BUT do not have to compare them to each other. More specifically, each student has to cover a play from Shakespeare, a text from a different culture and one from the English Literary Heritage.