1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with AQA Controlled Assessment

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by stephschool, Nov 25, 2011.

1. Having switched from OCR to AQA I am now struggling to work out the best way to deliver the controlled assessment. The OCR one was very clearly structured into 3 different tasks, compared to AQA's open ended project. I would like all my students to investigate the same business, so firstly, has anyone any tried and tested ideas? Secondly, are the students better demonstrating knowledge of all the syllabus topics or are you supposed to focus in on one? Would be grateful for ANY advice!

2. cag29

cag29 New commenter

I am new to delivering the GSCE controlled assessment too. I rang AQA in September and they sent me the booklets that were used in the training with teachers last year. The specimin samples they sent me are very similar to the tasks the students need to complete this time around. Information given states that you need to cover ALL the bullet points rather than all the content in the specification as they will not pick up marks for this, it needs to be specific. I am going to create a grid on what my students need to look at as part of their research stage, which will hopefully offer some guidance to them. The main bit is for them to interview the managers of their chosen business and to conduct research into possible areas that they can improve - I'd say get them to explore at least three and them focus on one of these for their final judgement section. I hope that is of some help. I am not planning to start mine until after January exams although I am going to give them some research bits to do over the holidays. Some schools do a 'mock[' as