1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help with a TEFL qualification.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by TomD12, Dec 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. TomD12

TomD12 New commenter

Good evening all. I am a Year 2 teacher here in sunny Wales. Whilst I am more than happy in my school and with my class etc, I am always looking to further improve myself and gain more qualifications.

I would like to do the TEFL course (teaching English as a foreign language). I have googled it and I feel its a minefiled out there. There are so many companies offering the course etc.

Is there an actual 'TEFL' business who are the originals or do I choose one of my own choice?

Any help would be much appreciated and if you have done the qualification it would be great to hear from you.

Thank you in advance,
    Tom

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

You're already TEFL, then! ;)

3. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

The only 2 reputable qualifications are Cambridge CELTA and Oxford Trinity. These are aimed at teaching you to teach EFL to adults, although after the CELTA you can do a young learner extension certificate. Both require you to complete essays and teach observed lessons, and are month long intensive courses if full time.

I did CELTA about 9 years ago. It was fantastic fun, and boosted my grammatical knowledge (non-native students are not taught the same grammar that you teach natives are primary). After that I taught EFL abroad and in the UK, then I did the PGCE.