1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help wanted! Signing deaf children in mainstream school ...

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by sashh, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Do you want FE experiences as well?

2. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter

Until this year I worked in a school in Somerset with a HI resource base. Somerset is a non-signing county when it comes to HI children. A couple of the children in the base signed at home, especially where there were others in the family who were HI, but at school no signing was allowed, they used hearing aids (with radio aids for the teachers) and lipreading - in my opinion a much more useful combination as it prepares the children to communicate out in the real world where most people cannot sign. We did not have any children though that had total hearing loss, but some were pretty severe even with their coclear implants.

3. Hi Mandydevine
    Thanks for your reply, so for the delay in getting back to you. Would you be willing to complete a questionnaire - that I could email to you. My email address is jopurple@robson0.fsnet.co.uk. If you would agree to complete the questionnaire, please email me with your email address.
    Where do you work? We do not really have units in my county any more. I used to be unit based, I miss having a class.

Many thanks

Jo

4. Dear Sashh
    It would be great to hear about your FE work. Would you be willing to complete a questionnaire that I could email to you. My email address is jopurple@robson0.fsnet.co.uk. If you would agree to complete the questionnaire, please email me with your email address.
    Thanks
    Jo

5. Dear Trinity0097