1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HELP !!!!! TAKE JOB OF DEPUTY OR NOT

Discussion in 'Primary' started by andrewj2000, Apr 19, 2011.

1. Hello guys,

I am James and I am confused right now about my career choices and was wondering if you could assist. I have been teaching now for 6 years and recently our deputy headteacher has moved to a different school. Since his departure the Headteacher on a number of occasions has asked me to put myself forward for an interview for the job.

I do think I am ready to possibly go onto Deputy Headship as I have taught in all Key stages apart from two and I am currently head of Year 5 and 6 curriculum. However, I was wondering what the job security is like once you step up to the Deputy head role. Is a role of both deputy and headship particularly vulnerable positions if Year 6 SATS results maybe not up to scratch. You may call me naive but I really am unclear.

Obviously their is significant pay increase put is this worth losing Job Security. Any opinions would be welcome

Thank you

James

2. greta444

greta444 New commenter

There are two crucial questions to ask here. How well do you get on with your head teacher? And was the previous deputy happy in their role? A huge amount depends on your relationship with the head and the relationships between the reat of the staff and the head.
    I was in this position and didn't take the headship because although I get along with the head okay, the rest of the staff don't all the time. I would feel that my loyalties were divided between the head and the rest of the staff. I don't like running with the hara and the hounds and to be honest, I prefer to be one of the minions than smt.