1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! Salol cooling curve shows temperature increase!

Discussion in 'Science' started by RoseyGrz, Nov 15, 2011.

1. I'm doing changing state with year 8 pupils and they recorded the temperature os liquid salol as it cooled and turned liquid. Most pupils didn't get great results so I'm using my own so they can make a graph next lesson.
    However my results show the temp decreasing from around 65degrees to around 22degrees then rising to a peak at 35degrees whilst it freezes - is this what should happen?
    I thought because making intermolecular bonds releases energy this would be right but now I'm starting to doubt the results.
    I'm a trainee and being observed ont he lesson where I cover this so really need to get it right.
    If anyone could help that would be amaizing
    Thank you

2. MarkS

MarkS New commenter

It should happen at a constant temperature - research 'Latent heat of fusion'.
    I've never seen a temperature increase during this kind of practical, and can't honestly think of an explanation...I think you should do what all good scientists do and fudge the results!!!
    Mark

3. The answer is super-cooling; if you allow a liquid to cool without any vibration, then the temperature will drop well below the accepted freezing point - any vibration will cause the temperature to rise rapidly to the accepted freezing point. This super-cooling phenomenon is also seen with water; water can be cooled to -20C without freezing, then the smallest vibration will cause freezing to occur.