1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! QTLS? QTS? What?!?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by twilight_amoeba, Oct 12, 2016.

1. twilight_amoeba

twilight_amoeba New commenter

Dear Tes community,

I am a newly qualified teacher (Studied PCET). Along with a cohort of similarly confused teachers we are facing the difficult task of navigating the dark and murky waters of current educational policy.
    Basically I'd really appreciate some honest advice of those in the know as how to proceed. I've read a number of posts on this forum about QTLS and QTS but due to the fact that the government is currently changing things I am a bit lost.

I've been looking into gaining QTLS status, as this is in line with post-compulsory education. However due to the cost (didn't we already pay enough in teacher training?) I wonder whether this is worth it or not. As I understand in FE you don't nessesarily need QTLS, but would it give me an advantage? I am also wondering whether I need to gain QTLS ASAP as the government is proposing changing this? Or do I just wait?

Some new teachers bemoan that we don't gain QTS with our qualification. Our tutors were deliberately evasive and unhelpful with regards to this. I appreciate the qualification we have completed is for ages 14+, but due to the lack of full-time secure positions in FE many would like to gain QTS status to give them-selves more opportunities. As I understand, this is an expensive route. Is there an alternative? Or would one need to study for a PGCE (even though we kind of did?)?