1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help please Whats the method?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pinkglitterchick, Jan 30, 2011.

1. HI all
    I am a secondary school teacher and I have a Year 3 daughter who is a summer born birthday (according to the school she attends this might make a diffrerence) and she is not confident in Maths

We have been given a piece of homework called 'adding to the next number' which requires her to do sums like 183+???=200 or 369+???=200 but i have no idea of the method used to teach it --- do the children not get taught hundreds, tens and units anymore as she doesnt recognise that type of sum with the numbers over each other and carrying the one over etc...

I am out of my depth any help would be gratefully recieved

Thanks

PGC

2. HI all
    I am a secondary school teacher and I have a Year 3 daughter who is a summer born birthday (according to the school she attends this might make a diffrerence) and she is not confident in Maths

We have been given a piece of homework called 'adding to the next number' which requires her to do sums like 183+???=200 or 369+???=200 but i have no idea of the method used to teach it --- do the children not get taught hundreds, tens and units anymore as she doesnt recognise that type of sum with the numbers over each other and carrying the one over etc...

I am out of my depth any help would be gratefully recieved

Thanks

PGC

3. Should the second calculation be subtraction? As 369+??? wouldn't equal 200. It depends on the age of the child. My school do teach HTU column methods, but it could be that she hasn't covered it yet. Look at the 'counting on' method e.g. 183 to 190 = 7, then 10 to 200. So the ??? must be 17.