1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HELP! Planning SERIES of Year 4 English lessons - newspaper articles!?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Mrs_Twit, Jan 17, 2010.

1. Hi,
    I'm a student and I need to plan a week of Literacy lessons (5) about writing newspaper articles, for a Year 4 class with achievement-levels ranging from G&T to SEN.
    Obv I need to start at the beginning - even the G&Ts don't sit and read a Guardian while they're eating their Ready Brek of a morning! =D I am starting on Monday with a short (20min) session.
    This is what I find challenging: forgetting all my prior knowledge and going right back to where the kids are at. The ultimate aim of this week is going to be for the kids to write pieces, in the style of newspaper articles, about the book we're sharing at storytime. So I need to get them to understand what newspaper articles are for, conventions of them, etc etc before I have a HOPE of getting them to write their own!
    ANY ideas for ways in? Where to start? Lesson/activity ideas? Fun stuff rather than me lecturing at them "headlines must be short and snappy etc (yawn)"!
    My targets are:
    - to have less teacher talk (!),
    - more visual/auditory/kinesthetic activities to get and keep the kids engaged
    - and effective planning for the TA (and for guided groups for me to lead).

This is soooo daunting, planning a SERIES of lessons. All I've had to do so far is teach ONE and then hand back to the REAL TEACHER!!!!!
    Your ideas very much appreciated, thank you! xx

2. Hi,