1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! No training in Read Write Inc

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Honey Loop, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Honey Loop

Honey Loop New commenter

Please help! I need some reassurance or reminders to stay calm!
    I'm a reception teacher and I have been on the sick for the last half term (hip replacement). I missed the training day on the last day of term on Read Write Inc. which we have used in KS2 for the last 3 years.
    I've just spoken to the Nursery teacher and she told me that the whole school are going to use RWI from September. I've been using a mix of JP and L&S and have been happy with this way of teaching reading and writing.
    Apparently I have been provided with large letter sounds and an instruction book. I've tried to find out how it works but all I can find on the web is testimonials about how fab it is or resources I can buy. Nothing on how to actually use it to teach.
    So, a few questions -
    How does it work?
    I gather that children move into different groups as they progress. Without TA support, will this be manageable or will I spend all day doing phonics groups (I only have 22 children)?
    Which sounds are taught first and how does it fit with the JP and L&S resources I already have (just spent the last 6 weeks of my recovery updating tatty What's in the Box resources.grrrrr)?
    I've read varying accounts of when to start and that it can be monotonous. (Our children are so delayed, that they are more at starting Nursery stage, than starting Reception stage) - any thoughts?
    And finally, how does it work with the cursive script I have to teach in Reception?