1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help !!! no placements...

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by jennitatt1, Jan 21, 2011.

1. Hi I am new to this and really could do with some advice. I am undertaking my PGCE at the moment as was supposed to start my placement next week. They have not been able to find placements for about 40 of us, and now I am getting worried that I will not be able to pass my course.
    What can I do, I have been told not to approach schools in my area.
    Any advice most welcomed
    J

2. Hi I am new to this and really could do with some advice. I am undertaking my PGCE at the moment as was supposed to start my placement next week. They have not been able to find placements for about 40 of us, and now I am getting worried that I will not be able to pass my course.
    What can I do, I have been told not to approach schools in my area.
    Any advice most welcomed
    J

3. I am full of sympathy for your predicament, but you and your group are by no means alone. It's getting more and more difficult to find schools for all students, as none of them is obliged to take any trainees and for one reason or another many decline, often at the last minute, leaving your uni in a spin.