1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed!! Year 1 Poetry Using the Senses

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jenuk, Sep 19, 2007.

1. Hi,
    I'm new to Year 1 and I'm struggling to think of poems to use for this unit. Poetry is definitely not my strong point so any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
    Thanks

2. Hi,
    I'm new to Year 1 and I'm struggling to think of poems to use for this unit. Poetry is definitely not my strong point so any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
    Thanks

3. MarilynDan

MarilynDan New commenter

There will be a whole on senses in my next update (coming in October) including powerpoints, posters, matching game AND songs, rhymes & poems :)
    http://www.ks1resources.co.uk/

4. I have an excellent book, Sensational ! - poems inspired by the five senses. ISBN- 0330413449.

5. Poppychick

Poppychick New commenter

"Brown Bear, Brown Bear" for the sense of sight. (by Eric Carle I think)

6. Hi - I did a poetry lesson on senses last year with a year 2 class. I based it on The Magic Box poem by Kit Wright. I brought in my own Magic Box filled with sensory thigs (feather, crunchy leaves, etc.)

From what I can remember I chose children to pick an item from the box, decide which sense was stimulated and think of a good adjective to include. We wrote a verse together as a class which looked something like this (we also briefly touched on alliteration):

Seeing shimmering stars on a clear dark night.

Hearing my cat purring loudly by the crackling fire.

Smelling freshly cut grass wafting through the summer air.

Tasting sweet sticky ice cream as it melts in the sun.