1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed with Topic: Why do organisations have to respond to changes in the business environment?

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by mrrpquinn, Oct 12, 2010.

1. Topic: Why do organisations have to respond to changes in the business environment?
    I have a lot of experience in teaching and studying Business Studies. However, I have been called for interview and given this as a topic to teach. The lesson will be 30 minutes in length and is to be pitched at an all ability Year 10 class. I would greatly appreciate any assistance in terms of:
    - Where I may find this on specifications? (Think they teach BTEC First)
    - How you would deliver this topic?
    - Any possible resources you may have which would assist me?
    I know this is a bit cheeky but I really am unsure of what exactly they are looking for in this topic title. Any possible replies in the next day or two will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. Broadly links with AQA A2 syllabus - unit 4. This covers assessing changes in the business environment (PESTLE). (Not familiar with BTEC)

I would take the tack that businesses don't operate in a vacuum, the brainstorm for what influences them - some clues if necessary. Expand on each and create a diagram with PESTLE factors on it,

Or take one aspect - eg economic change (recession - see Tutor2u for resources) and assess the impact of that. What would have happened if firms did nothing?, what did different firms do during the recession.

Best of luck!

3. This is D1 for Unit 1 BTEC Level 2. I have an assignment sheet you can have if it helps you? Just give me your email address and I'll email it across.