1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed with teaching what a mandir is to year 1 children.

Discussion in 'Religious Education' started by haroon1234, May 14, 2011.

1. Hi
    I'm a trainee teacher in a year 1 class. The children are learning about Hinduism and in the next lesson, I am going to teach them about what happens in a Mandir. I am going to start of by recapping what they already know about Hinduism. Then I will show them some virtual tours of a Mandir and I will show them clips of hindus worshipping in a madir. We will discuss the simmilarities and differences between a mandir and other places of worship. I will get the chn to think about why the Hindus take their shoes of when visiting the mandir and so we will talk about respecting things which are special to them.
    It's the main activity which I am struggling with. I am thinking of giving them an outline of a Mandir. The LA chn will draw what they would find in the Mandir. The MA will draw and label. The HA will draw and write a sentence. Whilst they are completing this activity, I will have a mandir set up in our small role play area. I will put in there the statues, the puja tray and some flowers. I will choose a table at a time to come and explore the mandir.
    Do you think my ideas are ok? Could anybody offer any suggestions on how I could improve it?

Looking forward to hearing your comments.

2. I did post on this in the Primary forum. I have been to a mandir many times but would honestly find it hard to
    draw what was inside. The activities you've chosen are very limited. I
    wonder if it is best thinking about the senses - the sound of the bell,