1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed with giving particles lesson a *wow* factor

Discussion in 'Science' started by LavaLaura, Dec 1, 2011.

1. I'm a PGCE student and I'm three lessons in to the Y7 particles topic.
    Today my observation was that my lesson needed a bit more 'oomph' (standing on the tables was suggested, but that's not really me!). Any ideas?
    The scheme of work has the following learning outcomes:
    Describe the motion of gas particles.
    Explain how a substance diffuses using the particle theory
    Use the particle model to explain how the speed of diffusion can be affected
    I'm thinking of a title (which the teacher likes to be a question) of: How can you smell my perfume on the other side of the room? and a WALT of: What happens to the particles in a gas after they escape from a container.
    My suggested teaching and learning ideas are:
    Demonstration of experiments to illustrate diffusion : coloured crystals in water; aerosol deodorant or air freshener;
    Demonstration of experiments which illustrate gas pressure: collapsing can; air pressure circus
    Use observations and secondary sources to present explanations for diffusion and gas pressure.
    This is a mixed ability year 7 class with y9 targets ranging from L4-L7.
    Any ideas gratefully recieved, I would love to get a really good review from this teacher! [​IMG]

2. PinkHelen

PinkHelen New commenter