1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed please, don't know who to turn to

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by toastandtea, Nov 25, 2015.

1. toastandtea

toastandtea New commenter

Hi,
    I'm looking for some advice please. I don't know who to turn to.
    To give a summary...I've been teaching for 8 years, gradually taking on more responsibility each year, but in the summer I effectively had a nervous breakdown, ended up being admitted to hospital with severe depression. I've been attempting a phased return to work since then but in the last few weeks I've been breaking down in tears again at work. I feel I can't burden my family and friends any more but I just don't know who to talk to.
    Luckily I managed to get myself together to find a new job starting in January so I do only have a few weeks left until I leave but I just don't know how I can get through these last few weeks. I know people just say "oh it's only 3 weeks left, you can do it" but I can't even get through one day at a time without crying at work. I just feel so pathetic.
    I feel unbelievably guilty for hardly even being at work this term, for not managing to even meet the requirements of my job. Effectively they're having to pay me for what exactly?
    To make things worse, my new job need clearance from occupational health that I'm fit for work and they're needing a report from my psychiatrist that I'm ok...I just really worry that I'm going to end up with no job as they'll say I'm not fit enough and I will have left my current role...