1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help Needed--- New Art Co-ord, Planning Art week

Discussion in 'Primary' started by hutch84, Apr 11, 2016.

1. hutch84

hutch84 New commenter

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping to receive some wonderful tips on how to plan a whole school Art week. (Primary School)

I am new to coordinating Art, and have been asked to plan Art Week in the summer term.

Normal timetables are suspended and all children are invited to take part. I work in a large two form entry school, with a large nursery attached. I am therefore looking for ideas that will be cost effective (limited budget) and that will involve all children. (Nursery to Year 6).

I have got as far as thinking about themes- and perhaps looking at Art from around the world-Giving each class a different destination. However I am not sure how this will fill a whole week!

Any ideas welcome,

Many Thanks,

Emma

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Ask other staff what they did last year?
    Find who might have some contacts you can exploit?

Ask your head for some staff meeting time (10-15 mins) to ask staff what they might like to do.

Lara mfl 05 likes this.
  3. annie apple

annie apple New commenter

For some of the time it might be nice to work on a collaborative piece that everyone can get involved in and could be displayed outside/ in the entrance hall etc.
    Mix up your classes so older children work alongside younger ones. We do this a lot at my school and gives opportunities for the older children to support and help others.
    Maybe run a reading cafe style event where you invite parents in, read a story and then children make a related craft activity with their parents.