1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help Needed! Eligible for English PGCE

Discussion in 'English' started by Cle0patra, May 30, 2011.

1. Hello Everybody

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to ask your advice. I know that my best course of action will be to speak to PGCE course providers but I'd like a little bit of a head start from you all.

I've been considering re-training as a secondary teacher for a while now, but think I may have come across a stumbling block. My degree is in Ancient World Studies (2:1 from UCL, graduated in 2001) which was a combination of classical literature, language and other subjects (philosophy etc). The majority of the modules I chose were literature based particularly Greek drama, and included a large % of textual analysis. I went on to complete a MA in Publishing and have worked in the industry for the last 9 years. I am currently working for a well known Oxford publisher as an Editor of HE textbooks.

My question is simple really - Do you think I can argue that my degree and subsequent experience is germane to an English PGCE? What more could I do to help my cause?

Thank you in advance for any advice you can give me

P.S. I have A grades at GCSE for literature and language and a B grade Literature A-level

2. jarndyce

jarndyce Occasional commenter