1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help me teach abroad .

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by sophiehall2011, Mar 13, 2012.

1. Hello I am an NQT, I have completed 2 terms in a school and want to go travelling for 1 year. I would love to teach in Canada or USA. Can I work as a teacher there only being an NQT?
    Does anyone have this experience or know what I can do?
    Will my induction period still take place in the USA/Canada?
    Any help or advice kindly accepted.
    Thanks xxx

2. Hello I am an NQT, I have completed 2 terms in a school and want to go travelling for 1 year. I would love to teach in Canada or USA. Can I work as a teacher there only being an NQT?
    Does anyone have this experience or know what I can do?
    Will my induction period still take place in the USA/Canada?
    Any help or advice kindly accepted.
    Thanks xxx

3. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

No, not at present although I believe some rulings are coming in re British schools abroad?
    You'd be best to post in the Teaching Overseas forum for info re requirements. In Aus you need to have taught for at least 12 months post qualification (and your qualifications must have been 4 years at Uni NOT GTP). No idea about US/Canada I'm afraid but sure some people on there will be able to help you out xx

4. loranp

loranp New commenter

The biggest network of British schools in the US ask for two years of teaching experience - i.e. NQT year plus another year. Most contracts are two years in length from what I gather from reading the overseas forum.