1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! KS4 25min interview/observed Art lesson

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by workingdesigner, Mar 13, 2020.

1. workingdesigner

workingdesigner New commenter

Hi
    I have been working in industry for 20 years but have decided to return to teaching.
    I have been invited for an interview at a secondary school. As part of the process I need to teach a KS4 group a 25 minute art lesson.
    It will be based on an artist/craft person but as I haven’t taught for a very long time I could really do with some support/advice.
    What can I cover in 25 mins!! What should the children achieve in this time.
    Hope you can help. Thanks

2. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

I'm not sure as I'm not an art teacher-maybe one will be along.
    But I am sure that your need to ask for help for a 25 minute lesson on something as open ended as you suggest ought to make you reflect on your suitability for the job.

if, for example,you are successful at interview, are you then going to need to come here and ask for help with each lesson on your timetable?

My response is not as dismissive as it seems-it's a point worth considering. It's not actually about passing through an interview by taking tips an wowing; it's about delivering stuff of passable calibre four or five times over on a daily basis.
    If you can do that, then you can sort out the 25 mins at interview,surely?

TheoGriff likes this.
  3. howdoyoueatyours?

howdoyoueatyours? New commenter

Hi only just seen your post. Have you had your interview?

4. workingdesigner

workingdesigner New commenter