1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! Keyboard club ideas needed

Discussion in 'Music' started by primaryteacher12, Apr 7, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am in my final year at uni studying primary education, and beginning to apply for jobs. I play the piano, I am very passionate about it, and would love to run a keyboard club if the opportunity arises.
    HOWEVER...
    I had a go at teaching keyboard in my final placement to a class of around 20 children- and it wasn't as easy as I thought! I wondered if anyone that runs a keyboard club who has had lots of experience can let me know of any useful resources out there, as well as give me advice on where to start when teaching a lot of children keyboard (some children with lots of knowledge about how to play and some children with no knowledge at all) and how to ensure they progress. Please help!!

2. silverfern

silverfern New commenter

You may have tried this already, but differentiate the tasks.
    Eg. The whole class learns to play the same piece, but some just play the bass line (ie. one note per bar, perhaps notated as letter names instead of stave notation); some play the melody (again, notated as letter names/stave notation), some play chords.
    Students get to choose which task they would like to do, based on their ability. Perhaps they'd like to try playing the melody, but can't read stave notation yet; give them the melody notated as letter names. Or perhaps they're just starting to get confident with note reading; give them the bass line - stave notation, but not too many notes...

3. spanboy

spanboy Occasional commenter